Can I create Tags if I don’t authenticate my account?
No, if you have not authenticated your account you will not be able to create any new Instagram Tags.
How can I authenticate my account?
To authenticate your account please go to Accounts - Instagram Accounts. Click “+Add Account” and you will be taken to an Instagram log in screen where you can add your credentials to authenticate the account.
Once your account is authenticated it will appear in the 'Instagram Accounts' section in the account area of the platform.
Once you have done this you will notice that there is a json content source for the Instagram account you added. This is the one which you will use to build out your live designs using the different API elements.
What is an Instagram Token?
Authenticating your Instagram account generates an access_token. These tokens are unique to a user and allow the access to the API. Instagram can expire the token at any time, or the token can become invalid if credentials for the Instagram account are changed. If the Token becomes invalid, the Instagram content will not update and will display the last cached version of images. If this occurs, please read the point below
Why are my images not updating?
It is likely that access has been revoked, please see below for help resolving this.
What happens if authorization is revoked?
If authorization is revoked, the latest Instagram images will not appear & you may see blank images. You can check whether authorisation has been revoked in Instagram by navigating to settings in Instagram and then 'Authorized Applications'.
If Litmus Personalize has been granted permission, it should look like this:
If Litmus Personalize is not visible in the Authorized Applications Tab it means that permission has been revoked.
To re-grant access, login to the Instagram account you wish to re-connect. In the Litmus Personalize platform, navigate to the Account section and click on Instagram accounts. Click new account. The account will automatically re-authenticate.
To test that the re-authentication has been successful, create an instagram tag, checking that it updates with the latest images from the account.
Do you store the Instagram password?
No. Authentication is managed by a token issued by Instagram which means we do not know, or store at anytime, the Instagram account password.
What if someone changes the Instagram password will it stop working?
Yes, this is mean that the authorization token becomes invalid. You will need to re-authenticate your account.
Can I have multiple Instagram accounts connected?
I connected the wrong account, what do I do?
If you need an Instagram account removed, you can do so in your account settings.
- Navigate to the Instagram Accounts section under Account Settings
- Click the small trash can icon below the account you want to delete
- Confirm the delete dialog
- Removing an Instagram account will also remove the associated content source
- This will break any tags tied to that content source.
- You can always re-add the Instagram account but you will still need to correct broken. templates/tags as they will point to the old, deleted, content source.
When trying again, ensure you're logged into the correct Instagram account in another tab in your browser.